Sony Music Entertainment UK today announced Synth Pop, a 3-CD collection that celebrates the importance of the Synth, out on 20 April 2015.  Stemming from the late 1970’s and giving birth to the New Romantic movement, the Synthesiser was THE sound of the era, and continues to influence the sound of bands today.

This brand new collection includes 14 massive number one hit singles as well as genre defining chart smashes from the likes ofEurythmics, Ultra Vox, Yazoo, New Order, Paul Hardcastle and Bronski Beat and the many more that helped create a new sound and identity to an entire decade and beyond.

From 1977’s ‘I Feel Love’ by Donna Summer to the track that arguably kicked off the synth pop era in June 1979Tubeway Army’s ‘Are ‘Friends’ Electric?’, this collection features over 60 tracks (including 46 top ten tracks) that place the electric keyboard at the heart of the British music history. From the Paul Hardcastle’s number 1 hit ‘19’ (this year celebrating it’s 30th Anniversary), right the way to New Order’s ‘Blue Monday’, The Human League’s ‘Don’t You Want Me Baby’ and the late Steve Strange’s Visage classic ‘Fade To Grey’, this new album celebrates the impact that the invention of the Moog and affordable keyboards had on the music of the 80’s and continues to influence the likes of Lady Gaga, Ellie Goulding, Charlie XcX, Calvin Harris and many more acts today.

Paul Hardcastle said: “It was 30 years ago that my record ‘19’ hit the No.1 spot all over the world, so it’s incredible to know that music fans are just as into synth pop now as much as they were back in 1985. I was one of the first to use a sampler on a pop record and back in my day the machine couldn’t sample more than two seconds of material, so I managed to get in “in Vietnam he was 19” which provided the main hook for the record.”

Synth Pop arrives 20 April 2015 on Sony Music Entertainment UK.
Retail link:

Tracklisting as follows: CD1

1.     Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams

2.     The Human League – Don’t You Want Me

3.     Gary Numan – Cars

4.     Soft Cell – Tainted Love

5.     Donna Summer – I Feel Love

6.     Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Relax

7.     Paul Hardcastle – 19

8.     Duran Duran – The Reflex (7” Version)

9.     Communards ft. Sarah Jane Morris  – Don’t Leave Me This Way

10.   Spandau Ballet – Gold

11.   Falco – Rock Me Amadeus

12.   Yazoo – Only You

13.   Ultravox – Vienna

14.   Visage – Fade To Grey

15.   Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark – Enola Gay

16.   M – Pop Muzik

17.   The Flying Lizards – Money

18.   Harold Faltermeyer – Axel F


1.     New Order – Blue Monday

2.     Gary Numan/Tubeway Army – Are ‘Friends’ Electric?

3.     Heaven 17 – Temptation

4.     Philip Oakey Ft. Giorgio Moroder – Together In Electric Dreams

5.     Bronski Beat – Smalltown Boy

6.     Fiction Factory – (Feels Like) Heaven

7.     Erasure – A Little Respect

8.     Kajagoogoo – Too Shy

9.     A-Ha – Take On Me

10.   Kim Wilde – Kids In America

11.   King – Love & Pride

12.   Haircut 100 – Love Plus One

13.   Japan – Quiet Life

14.   Howard Jones – What Is Love?

15.   Midge Ure – If I Was

16.   Thompson Twins – Hold Me Now

17.   Talk Talk – It’s My Life

18.   Roxy Music – More Than This


1.     Tears For Fears – Everybody Wants To Rule The World

2.     Aztec Camera – Somewhere In My Heart

3.     Alison Moyet – Love Resurrection

4.     Prefab Sprout – The King Of Rock ‘N’ Roll

5.     Imagination – Body Talk

6.     Landscape – Einstein a Go-Go

7.     Alphaville – Big In Japan

8.     Altered Images – Don’t Talk to Me About Love

9.     Blancmange -Living On The Ceiling

10.   Herbie Hancock – Rockit

11.   Thomas Dolby – She Blinded Me With Science

12.   Classix Nouveaux- Is It A Dream

13.   Belouis Some – Imagination

14.   A Flock Of Seagulls – I Ran (So Far Away)

15.   Devo – Whip It

16.   Yello – Oh Yeah

17.   Art Of Noise – Moments In Love