Sam Smith’s ‘Stay With Me’ and ‘Latch’ are both in the running to be crowned ‘Song of the Year’ at the upcoming BMI London Awards alongside Ed Sheeran’s ‘Sing’ and ‘Don’t’. ‘Fancy’ (Iggy Azalea ft Charli XCX), ‘Rather Be’ (Clean Bandit) and ‘Sky Full of Stars’ (Coldplay) are also among the songs in contention for the highly coveted award for the most played song of the 2014 on radio and TV in the US, which will be presented in London on Monday, October 19th by BMI,  the global leader in music rights management.

Sheeran was nominated last year for his work on Taylor Swift’s track ‘Everything Has Changed’. However, he missed out on the 2014 award which was taken by Daft Punk’s global hit ‘Get Lucky’.

Breaking the US market is a huge goal for many European artists and songwriters, so recognition at the BMI London Awards is a measure of this triumph. Only the most popular songs played on US TV and radio by European songwriters are shortlisted for Song Of The Year, underlining their achievements and each of  the ten will receive a BMI London Pop Award on the night.

Sheeran and Smith have enjoyed phenomenal success in the past months, with both racking up numerous awards and heading the ranks of the most streamed and biggest-selling artists of last year around the world. Sheeran has seen his popularity continue by playing a series of sell-out solo headline shows at Wembley Stadium over the summer, while Smith has been honoured with the prestigious position of writing and performing the new James Bond theme, called ‘Writing’s On The Wall’ from the forthcoming film Spectre which has already become a UK number one single.

Rixton’s debut single ‘Me and My Broken Heart’ is in the running thanks to renowned songwriter Steve Mac and Wayne Hector who has also previously crafted hits for the likes of One Direction. Other British contenders also include members of Clean Bandit whose chart-topping combination of classical strings and dance pop ‘Rather Be’, which has achieved US success to join the list.

Alongside British contenders are tracks performed by Scandinavian acts such as ‘Am I Wrong’ (Nico and Vinz) and ‘Habits (Stay High)’ (Tove Lo) as well as Avicii who co-wrote ‘Sky Full of Stars’ performed by Coldplay. Worldwide hit ‘Fancy’ (Iggy Azalea ft Charli XCX) completes the list, which is listed in full below.

Contenders will be hoping to follow in the footsteps of other past Song Of The Year winners, who include the likes of Adele (who won in 2012 with ‘Rolling In The Deep’) and 2013’s victors Jörgen Elofsson and Ali Tamposi, the Swedish writers behind Kelly Clarkson’s ‘Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You)’.

The gala event will also honour the internationally-celebrated songwriter Graham Gouldman as a BMI Icon at its annual BMI London Awards. The former 10cc star, whose catalogue of songs also includes classic hits for The Yardbirds and The Hollies, follows previous recipients such as John Lydon, Ray Davies, Van Morrison and Bryan Ferry.

The BMI London Awards recognises the UK and European songwriters and publishers of 2014’s most-performed songs on radio and TV in the United States. They are hosted by BMI President and CEO Michael O’Neill, BMI Senior Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations Phil Graham and BMI Executive Director, Writer/Publisher Relations, Europe and Asia Brandon Bakshi.

Full shortlist (with songwriter and original publisher where available):

Am I Wrong – Nico & Vinz
Kahouly Nicolay Sereba
Vincent Dery

Don’t – Ed Sheeran
Ed Sheeran Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Fancy – Iggy Azalea Ft Charli XCX
George Astasio – Universal Music Publishing
Jason Pebworth – Universal Music Publishing
Jon Shave – Sony/ATV Music Publishing
Kurtis McKenzie

Habits (Stay High) – Tove Lo
Daniel Ledinsky – Sony/ATV Music Publishing Scandinavia

Latch – Disclosure ft Sam Smith
Sam Smith – Stellar Songs Ltd
Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Me and My Broken Heart – Rixton
Wayne Hector – Warner Chappell Music Ltd
Steve Mac – Rockstone Music

Rather Be – Clean Bandit
Nicole Marshall – Sony/ATV Music Publishing
Grace Chatto – Sony/ATV Music Publishing
Jack Patterson – Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Sing – Ed Sheeran
Ed Sheeran – Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Sky Full Of Stars – Coldplay
Avicii – Sony/ATV Music Publishing Scandinavia

Stay With Me – Sam Smith
Sam Smith – Stellar Songs Ltd
Sony/ATV Music Publishing