Jools Holland and Ruby Turner to release ‘Come On In’ ahead of winter tour

Oct - 10 2019 | no comments

Music legend Jools Holland today announces the release of brand-new single Come On In through Warner Music. Following on from the recent news that Jools will be heading off on a European club tour with KT Tunstall in early 2020, the single sees him collaborate with the supremely talented Ruby Turner who co-wrote and sings on the track, which also features full accompaniment from the renowned Rhythm & Blues Orchestra.

Recorded at Jools Holland’s studio, the single has been long in the making. Ruby and Jools’ friendship and working relationship go back to the early 90s and they have been writing and performing together ever since. Having just completed a summer tour with the Rhythm & Blues Orchestra they are about to embark on the much loved and acclaimed Winter tour which is now incredibly in its 23rd year.

Jools is also soon back on air on BBC TWO with Later…with Jools Holland and his BBC Radio 2 show.

The single will be available for download on all major platforms from 11th October.

Jools commented “Ruby’s the greatest joy to work with. Whether we are on stage, in the studio, writing at home or running things backstage, we’re always in the same place – which is completely connected musically. Lyrically this song captures the beauty, kindness and humanity of Ruby Turner”

Ruby Turner added “When I wrote this song I was inspired by the wonderful BB King and Al Green, their commitment to music and love of gospel, blues and soul. It gave me such peace and a strong sense of fellowship and gathering together. I proposed it to Jools but his schedule is always so manic that it took him nearly two years to get to it. I sang it down the phone to him and he wrote the music, changed the chorus, switched the bridge and structured it. We then tried it out live, with no rehearsal, at one of his biggest shows we played that year…”

FULL AUTUMN/WINTER UK TOUR 2019 DATES
DATE VENUE
Thursday 24 October – Southend Cliffs Pavilion
Friday 25 October – Southend Cliffs Pavilion
Saturday 26 October – Peterborough East Of England Arena
Sunday 27 October – Cambridge Corn Exchange
Thursday 31 October – York Barbican
Friday 1 November – Sheffield City Hall
Saturday 2 November – Harrogate International Centre
Wednesday 6 November – Stoke Victoria Hall
Thursday 7 November – Bath Forum
Friday 8 November – Watford Colosseum
Saturday 9 November – Cheltenham Centaur
Thursday 14 November – Reading Hexagon
Friday 15 November – London Royal Albert Hall
Saturday 16 November – London Royal Albert Hall
Wednesday 20 November – Nottingham Royal Concert Hall
Thursday 21 November – Bradford St Georges
Friday 22 November – Guildford GLive
Saturday 23 November – Portsmouth Guildhall
Thursday 28 November – Leicester DeMontfort Hall
Friday 29 November – Birmingham Symphony Hall
Saturday 30 November – Birmingham Symphony Hall
Sunday 1 December – Southampton Mayflower
Wednesday 4 December – Newcastle City Hall
Thursday 5 December – Newcastle City Hall
Friday 6 December – Glasgow SEC Armadillo
Saturday 7 December – Glasgow SEC Armadillo
Friday 13 December – Bournemouth Windsor Hall
Saturday 14 December – Brighton Centre
Thursday 19 December – Exeter Great Hall
Friday 20 December – Plymouth Pavilions
Saturday 21 December – Cardiff Motorpoint Arena
Sunday 22 December – Manchester O2 Apollo

Pop Scoop TV

Partners

Join us on Facebook

%d bloggers like this: